Darren Hughes to replace injured Pearce Hanley

Monaghan’s Darren Hughes will replace Pearce Hanley who suffered a broken hand. Hughes will fly to Australia to help Ireland as they try to come back from a 10-point deficit to retain the Cormac McAnnallen championship. Team manager Joe Kernan confirmed the replacement, saying the midfielder will provide a huge help to the team. “He […]

Johnny Buckley leads Dr Crokes into Munster final

Johnny Buckley’s impressive performance was enough to keep Dr Crokes on track to defend their Munster and All-Ireland club titles. Buckley had an impressive all around performance in their semifinal win over Kilmurry-Ibrickane 2-19 to 0-10. He put in his best display in some time, dominating the kickouts, driving forward with the ball and generally […]

Rathnew pulls off upset win vs St. Vincent’s

Rathnew pulled off an amazing upset win over reigning Dublin and provincial champions St. Vincent’s in Aughrim 1-13, 1-9. James Stafford’s late goal put the punctuation for a well-deserved victory for Rathnew. The Wicklow champions will go on a semi-final meeting with Moorefield of Kildare. St. Vincent’s, who is seeking their fourth Leinster title in […]

Derrygonnelly and Cavan duel ends in draw

The Ulster club SFC semi final match between Derrygonnelly and Cavan at Clones ended with a 0-12 to 0-12 draw. The Cavan Gaels led by four points in the second half but the Derrygonnelly Harps equalized in the final quarter to force extra-time at 0-10. Gary McKenna and Martin Dunne traded scores in the first […]

2017 PwC All-Star Football Team of the Year

1. David Clarke (Mayo) 2. Chris Barrett (Mayo) 3. Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin) 4. Keith Higgins (Mayo) 5. Colm Boyle (Mayo) 6. Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin) 7. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin) 8. Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone) 9. James McCarthy (Dublin) 10. Dean Rock (Dublin) 11. Aidan O’Shea (Mayo) 12. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin) 13. Paul Mannion (Dublin) 14. Paul Geaney (Kerry) 15. Andy Moran […]

GAA Master Fixtures Schedule For 2018 Released

From Odhrán Crumley This morning in Croke Park the master fixtures schedule for all GAA activity in 2018 was released. Many talking points developed from the schedule as the powers that be look to condense the inter-county season, making time for the club season within the calendar year. There will be no inter-county fixtures in […]

Stephen Rochford to stay as Mayo manager until 2020

Stephen Rochford will stay on sa Mayo’s manager for the next three years. Rochford has been given a two-year extension do his existing deal, which means he will be manager until 2020. “All involved with Mayo GAA thank Stephen and his team for all the time and hard work already contributed to the Mayo senior […]

Charlie Vernon nails SFC final after four tries

Charlie Vernon is happy the finally nails a final championship after four tries. “You put your heart and soul into it for a long, long time and it didn’t come off for us,” Vernon said. He added they were facing tougher teams for a long time in the past. “We were up against quality teams […]

McMahon excited to lead club Omagh in final

Joe McMahon admits it is a big honor to lead his club Omagh in the SFC final on Sunday. “It’s a real honour for me to captain the team, especially with my county career ending this year,” McMahon said. Omagh handed the captaincy to McMahon after he called it quits with his inter-county career earlier […]