Cooper Gets His Hands On The Trophy

Dr Crokes 1-09
Slaughtneil 1-07

A goal from Colm Cooper in the first half helps the Kerry club team Dr Crokes with the All Ireland Senior Football Club Championship against club of the year Slaughtneil.

Pádraig Cassidy sees Red after getting a Goal earlier

Pádraig Cassidy sees Red after getting a goal earlier in the half

Slaughtneil had started the game fast by going in front 1-4 to 0-3 by the 19th minute.

Padraig Cassidy had made a galloping run a received a great hand pass back from his team mate to be through on goal and calmly sidestep the keeper Shane Murphy before passing the ball into the net with his left foot.

Further points coming from Shane McGuigan and Christopher Bradley from play.

On the 22nd minute the Dr Crokes talisman Colm Cooper put the ball into the Slaughtneil net with a calmly side footed left foot finish after a galloping run up the pitch by Daithi Casey who lost control of the ball to flick the ball as he was falling to the Gooch.

The changing point of the game was when Padraig Cassidy got clipped on the head by a Crokes man and retaliated whilst on his knees by striking the player in the genital region in front of the linesman.

The ever determined Slaughtneil driven by Chrissy McKaigue and Brendan Rodger were only a point behind as the game was enter the final quarter, 1-7 to 1-6.

Score from substitute Mícheál Burns lobbing and free from Colm Cooper increase the Kerry’s club team lead by three.

A score for Slaughtneil reduced the score by two but in the latter minutes the Killarney club run the clock down meaning the Derry side couldn’t get their hands on the ball.


Dr Crokes: S Murphy; J Payne, M Moloney, L Quinn; D O’Leary, G White, F Fitzgerald; A O’Donovan, J Buckley; A O’Sullivan, G O’Shea, B Looney (0-03); K O’Leary, C Cooper (1-02, 0-02f), D Casey (0-03, 0-02f).

Subs: M Burns (0-01) for O’Sullivan, J Kiely for O’Shea, S Doolan for D O’Leary, T Brosnan for Looney, E Brosnan for Casey, C Brady for K O’Leary.

Slaughtneil: A McMullan; B Rodgers, P McNeill, K McKaigue; K Feeney, C McKaigue, F McEldowney (0-01); Patsy Bradley, P Cassidy (1-00); Se McGuigan, Paul Bradley (0-03, 0-03f), M McGrath; Shane McGuigan (0-01), C Bradley (0-02), C O’Doherty.

Subs: B Cassidy for O’Doherty, R Bradley for McGrath, B McGuigan for Feeney, G Bradley for Se McGuigan,

Referee: M Deegan (Laois).