Dublin Dismantle Roscommon to Break Record

Dublin 2-29

Roscommon 0-14

Record breakers and still the team to beat it looks like if you want to win the All Ireland.

The boys in blue beat the 84 year old record held by Kerry by going unbeaten in 35 games.

Notching 35 points in a very one sided game against bottom of the table Roscommon.

Dublin relied on familiar faces this weekend to bring them success in the form of Paul Flynn and Bernard Brogan who made their first start since their extended breaks.

Flynn led with a super performance and has a personal scoring tally of 1-6.

Dublin this season have been tested especially by the Ulster sides in the form of Tyrone and Donegal.

The victory also meant that Roscommon will be relegated to Division two for next season.

After 14 minutes Paul Flynn had the ball in the net to give Dublin a lead of 1-4 to 0-3., this was followed by points by Lowndes, Scully and Flynn.

Brogan also got on the scoring act as he scored points off both feet to have his own personal tally at 0-3 at half time as Dublin went in at half time 1-14 to 0-6.

Jim Gavin unloaded the bench giving appearances to highly experienced players such as Jack McCaffrey, Michael Darragh MacAuley and Diarmuid Connolly.

Flynn was in exceptional form in the second half as he scored three points to extend Dublin’s lead to 1-21 to 0-8.

In a one sided affair Kevin McManamon added 1-1 with three points coming from Conor McHugh, but a bad league campaign for the Rossies  saw good performances from Cian Connolly.


 Stephen Cluxton, Philly McMahon, Michael Fitzsimons, Davy Byrne, Darren Daly, Cian O’Sullivan, Eric Lowndes (0-1), Brian Fenton (0-2), Ciaran Reddin (0-2), Paul Flynn 1-6, Kevin McManamon 1-1,  Niall Scully (0-2), Dean Rock (0-3)(0-2f), Paddy Andrews (0-3), Bernard Brogan (0-3)


Shane B Carthy (0-1)  for Byrne (30), Jack McCaffrey (0-1)  for Daly (40) , Conor McHugh (0-2)(0-1f)  for Rock (40), Diarmuid Connolly (0-1)  for Fenton (44) , Micahel Darragh Macauley for Reddin (47),
Paul Mannion for O’Sullivan (49)


 D O’Malley, David Murray, John McManus, Niall McInerney, Sean McDermott, Ultan Harney, Ronan Stack, T Corcoran, T O’Rourke, G Patterson  0-1, Ciarain Murtagh (0-2) 1f , Enda Smith (1f), Donie Smith(1f), Diarmuid Murtagh0-3 (1f), Conor Devaney,


Cathal Compton for Corcoran (ht), Shane Killoran  0-1, for Harney (ht), Cian Connolly (0-2) 1f ) for D Murtagh (52), Fintan Cregg for Smith (52), Brian Murtagh for McDermott (52), N Kilroy  0-1,  for C Murtagh (1f) (65)

Referee: Cormac Reilly (Meath)