GAA Proposal for the Hurling Championship

The GAA has proposed a new format that will be considered by the Central Council next week and if they agree with the new format it will go to a special congress later in the year and proposed to be introduced in 2018 for a 3 year trial.

Leinster and Munster senior hurling championship would introduce a round robin stage, each team will play four games with two home games and two away with the top two teams in each province would then contest their provincial final.

The winner of the provincial finals would proceed into the All-Ireland semi finals while the loser would enter the All Ireland quarter final.

As part of a rolling two-year cycle, the teams that finish in third in either province would either progress to the quarter-final, or meet the winner of the provincial qualifier group in a play-off to reach the last eight.

This would mean that the team in the provincial qualifier group could win the All Ireland but not be a provincial champion.

The proposal provincial qualifier group in 2018 would consist of Antrim, Carlow, Kerry, Laois and Westmeath.

The team that finished bottom on the Leinster could be demoted to the qualifier group but Munster will no be affected.

The provinces remain the same in the minor championship, but Galway enter in a three-way round-robin with the beaten provincial finalists.

At U21 level Munster stays the same, while it’s proposed that Galway and ”Ulster teams of sufficient quality” will compete in Leinster.