Red Hands Aim For Six in a Row

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has named a strong panel to defend the Dr McKenna Cup. A cup the Red Hands have annexed in recent years as they aim to win it for the sixth consecutive year. 

Tyrone aim for six in a row

Harte Expects a stern test from the ‘group of death’.

Harte believes that his charges are preparing for their stiffest challenge throughout the tournament in recent years. They are grouped with Cavan, Donegal and a very strong UUJ side.

Since Harte does not play challenge games he has made it clear to that he wants his side to contest as five competitive games in the competition.

The panel is a blend of the next generation and old hands with Sean Cavanagh committing for another year coinciding with the return of Conor Clarke and Niall McKenna who missed the entire 2016 campaign through injury.

The six players who received the call up to the panel for the O’Fiaich Cup have impressed enough to be included in the McKenna Cup panel.

Tyrone McKenna Cup winners 2016

Mattie Donnelly holds the McKenna Cup.

These include defenders in the shape of Cookstown’s Ruairi Mullan, Ardboe’s Michael Cassidy and Moy’s Harry Loughran. Midfield options are boolstered in the shape of Clonoe’s Declan McClure while attacking options see the inclusion of Cahir McCullagh of Greencastle and Aghyaran’s Ronan McHugh.

Tyrone begin their defence of the McKenna Cup with a trip to Cavan on Sunday January 8th.


Niall Morgan (Edendork), Michael O’Neill (Clonoe), Aidan McCrory (Errigal Ciaran), Lee Brennan (Trillick), Conor Clarke (Omagh), Tiernan McCann (Killyclogher), Peter Harte (Errigal Ciaran), Ronan O’Neill (Omagh), Niall Sludden (Dromore),  Padraig McNulty (Dungannon), Padraig Hampsey (Coalisland), Darren McCurry (Edendork), Sean Cavanagh (Moy), Harry Loughran (Moy), Johnny Munroe (Carrickmore), Conor McAliskey (Clonoe), Mattie Donnelly (Trillick), Colm Cavanagh (Moy), Cathal McCarron (Dromore), Michael Cassidy (Ardboe), Declan McClure (Clonoe), Cahir McCullagh (Greencastle), Ronan McHugh (Aghyaran), Niall McKenna (Donaghmore), Ronan McNabb (Dromore), Ruairi Mullan (Cookstown).