Staunton And Aherne Show Class In Croke Park

Mayo 1-11

Dublin 1-10

Cora Staunton and Sinead Aherne show scoring powers and Cora Staunton won the game for Mayo at HQ, her last appearance was in 2008.

Staunton injury time winner was something of exceptional class kicking a free from 45m that went over the black spot from outside of the right boot.

Dublin had not appeared in Croke Park since their defeat in the All Ireland final last year against Cork, this is Dublin third loss of the Lidl League Campaign despite the best efforts of Sinead Aherne who had a personal tally of 1-7.

The match was the first Ladies National Football League match at Croke Park.

Dublin went in at the interval leading by two points 0-5 to 0-3, but Mayo came out roaring in the second half scoring 1-4.

Dead ball situation proved to be key as Staunton and Aherne proved to be clinical from frees.

Staunton goal bound effort from a 14m free was stopped on the line but these wasn’t enough as she smashed home the rebound.

Mayo were leading by 6 points on the 52 minute and the game seemed to be as good as over until Sinead Aherne gave the blues a life line by bagging a goal on the 57th minute with Hannah O’Neill getting on the scores sheet for Dublin to bring the two side level.

Tempers got heated and Fiona Doherty was sent to the line for an elbow.


A draw was on the cards until Staunton stepped up to land a free to give Mayo a crucial win.

Mayo: Y Byrne; O Conlon, S Tierney, J O’Malley; F Doherty, M Carter, M Corbett; A Gilroy 0-1 , D Hughes; G Kelly 0-2, C Staunton 1-6 (0-3f) , M McGing; S Rowe 0-1, S Howley, A Dowling.

Subs: R Kearns 0-1 for Howley (24), E Needham for McGing (33), S McGing for O’Malley (49), N Gaughan for Dowling (55), Howley for Kelly (60), L Dervan for Gilroy (60).

Dublin:  E Ní Eafa; S O’Mahony, S Finnegan, F Hudson; L Caffrey, O Carey, M Byrne; N Healy, L Magee; C Rowe, S McCaffrey, K McKenna; L Davey 0-1  , S Aherne 1-7 (0-5f) , R McDonnell

Subs: K Fitzgibbon for Hudson (ht), H O’Neill 0-1  for McCaffrey (ht), M Lamb for McKenna (ht), O Leonard 0-1  for McDonell (47), D Murphy for Rowe (53), T O’Sullivan for Byrne (60).